The Illinois State Genealogical Society (ISGS) was formed in 1968 through the cooperative effort and forward thinking of Illinois genealogical society representatives, who envisioned a statewide genealogical organization. ISGS is a not-for-profit, nonsectarian, educational organization.
ISGS was established for the following purposes:
  • To stimulate an interest in the people who contributed to the establishment and development of the State of Illinois.
  • To seek, preserve and make available information pertaining to individuals, families and groups who lived in Illinois, recognizing the events that affected them.
  • To inform people about the value of and the need for preserving family and local history for future generations.
  • To encourage and support local and regional genealogical societies. 
Federation of Genealogical Societies Member

President: Dawn Carey Henry
1st Vice President: Angela McGhee
2nd Vice President: Susan Scoville Pope
Recording Secretary: Laura Kovarik
Treasurer: Jayne Cates
2017 Director: Tony Burroughs
2017 Director: David Kent Coy
2017 Director: Karl Moore
2018 Director: Kristy Gravlin
2018 Director: Barbara McKean
2018 Director: Rick Shields
2019 Director: Janice Conkrite
2019 Director: Vacant
2019 Director: Jackie Lyell
Immediate Past President
Immediate Past President: Jayne Cates
Standing Committees
Advocacy - Chair: Kim Hanks
Conference - Co-Chair: Dawn Carey Henry
Conference - Co-Chair: Rick Shields
Education - Chair: Laura Kovarik
Illinois Soc Liaison - Chair: Kim Hanks
Marketing & Publicity - Chair: Jaymie Middendorf
Membership - Chair: Mary Westerhold
Publications - Chair: Ann Wells
Website - Chair: Vacant
Abraham Lincoln Pres Library: Angela Stille
Federation of Genealogical Soc: Dawn Carey Henry
Illinois State Archives: David Joens
Illinois State Hist Society: William Furry
Illinois Secretary of State: David Joens
Non-Voting Committees
Advertising Chair: Vacant
Cemeteries Chair: John Heider
Church Records Chair: Vacant
Family Bible Records Chair: Janice Conkrite
Genealogy Chair: Dawn Carey Henry
Indexing Coordinator: Vacant
IL Bicentennial Co-Chair: Dawn Carey Henry
IL Bicentennial Co-Chair: Vacant
ISGS 50th Anniv Co-Chair: David Kent Coy
ISGS 50th Anniv Co-Chair: Joy Upton
Military Certificates Chair: Charles Dobias
Newsletter Editor: Susan McQuaid
Prairie Pioneer Chair: Sandra Parker
Quarterly Editor: Terry Feinberg
Social Media: Jaymie Middendorf
Webinar Chair: Thomas MacEntee
Website Administrator - Acting: Thomas MacEntee
Website Manager: Karen Feeney